• Government Contacts 

  • Photo of Donna Clasen, Mayor of Maize City of Maize 
    Maize is a unique, progressive city on the northwest edge of Wichita enjoying metropolitan status in a rural surrounding. We are a civic-minded community with numerous citizens who volunteer their time for an array of activities. Our city officials and city staff continue to strengthen the value of teamwork and civic loyalty, as we provide essential services ensuring all citizens a secure environment in which to live, work and play.  Excellent schools, low crime rate and easy access to the entire metro area makes Maize a unique place to live.  We welcome you to Maize and invite you to visit our local businesses. Be sure to visit our Highlights page to learn about current and upcoming events and updates on current city issues from our city administrator.

    Donna Clasen, Mayor

  • City of Wichita  

    Dr. Brandon Whipple was elected as the Mayor of Wichita in the Nov. 5, 2019, election and was sworn in to office on Jan. 13, 2020.  Prior to being elected Mayor, Dr. Whipple served District 96 in the Kansas House of Representatives for 7 years and was a professor at Wichita State University.

    In December 2019, Mayor Whipple was honored to attend the biennial Seminar on Transition for Newly Elected Mayors at The Institute of Politics at Harvard Kennedy School. Mayor Whipple participated in sessions on various topics including leading in times of crisis, supporting youth civic engagement, and effective policing. The seminar was developed in collaboration with the U.S. Conference of Mayors and led by current and former mayors, prominent scholars and policy experts.

    Mayor Whipple graduated from Dover High School in Dover, New Hampshire, and also earned his Associate of Arts in liberal studies from Hesser College.  He moved to Wichita in 2003 at age 21 in a year-long education-service mission with AmeriCorps.  In that program he worked with at-risk youth at Wichita South High School, and ultimately made a decision to call Wichita home.

    He graduated from Wichita State University where he earned a Bachelor of General Studies and a Master of Arts in Liberal Studies with an emphasis on cross-cultural studies and public administration. Whipple also earned a Doctor of Arts in Leadership Studies from Franklin Pierce University.

    Mayor Whipple is married to his wife, Chelsea, and they have three young children, Adrian, Tristan and Julian.

    When not working, Mayor Whipple enjoys studying history, teaching martial arts and spending time with his family exploring all that Wichita has to offer. He is also a member of Vestry at St. James Episcopal Church.

  • State Legislators

    Four Representatives and four Senators represent Maize USD 266 patrons at the state Capitol inSchoolCenter Picture Topeka. The Kansas Legislature convenes in January of each year and typically adjourns in late April or early May. The primary source of funding for public school districts in the state of Kansas is determined by state legislators during the time they are in session.

    To contact your legislator or to learn more about the Kansas Legislature, please visit the official website for the Kansas Legislature.

If you are having trouble viewing the document, you may download the document.
  • State Board of Education 

    SchoolCenter PictureThe State Board of Education, headquartered in Topeka, controls the Kansas State Department of Education. and is a constitutional body established in Article 6 of the Kansas Constitution. The ten members of the Board of Education are each elected to four-year terms. The Board helps determine educational policy for the state's primary and secondary schools.

    The State Board of Education meets the second Tuesday and Wednesday of each month. A Citizens' Open Forum is at 10:30 a.m. on Tuesday. Comments are limited to two to three minutes per person.

    To contact your State Board of Education representative, click on the link below.


  • Sedgwick County Commission

    The Sedgwick County Commission meets weekly at 9 a.m. on Wednesdays at the Sedgwick County Courthouse, 525 N. Main St., in downtown Wichita. 

    To contact your county commissioner, please click on the link below.